Home   /  Sport  /  Knock ME Down Race Returns


Knock ME Down Race Returns

The Knock ME Down Adventure Race took place last Saturday 27th August for the sixth year. The event which has been running since 2016 did not run in 2020 due to the pandemic, but nevertheless participation levels have increased six-fold in the six years the event has been running. With the inaugural event having a mere 90 participants, this year's event saw 540 participants take on the challenge of the Knockmealdown Mountains in two distinct events.

The Knockmealdown MÓR is now a 58km event involving a cycle from Newcastle to Kilballyboy Wood outside Clogheen. From here, participants head cross-country via Coillte tracks to Baylough, where they take on a single Kayak run around the famed lake. After this, they take a different route back to their bikes in the wood. The MÓR participants then take on a tough cycle over the mountains to Mount Melleray. Here, Fr. Denis and his fellow monks greet participants with a 4km run around the back of the monastery. When they've finished this run, they remount their bikes and take on the gruelling climb to the county bounds, above the abbey. The final act is a dare-devil descent from the top of the mountain back into Newcastle.

The shorter, but still difficult, Knock ME Down Challenge, starts with the same cycle, run and Kayak. On returning to the woods from their run back from Baylough, Challenge participants take on a 15km cycle back to Newcastle.

Feedback from Saturday's event was spectacularly positive. All participants seemed to enjoy the competition, camaraderie and the wonderful social gathering at the refreshment area after the event. Everyone taking part commented on the friendly and courteous volunteer marshals and stewards at every cross and turning point.

The winners and runners up on the day were:


  • Female Over 60 - 1st Hillary Collins, 2nd Mary Ryan.
  • Male Over 60 - 1st Frank Nash, 2nd Patrick Walsh.
  • Female 40 to 60 - 1st Mag Kirwan, 2nd Marie Wright.
  • Male 40 to 60 - 1st Kieran Meegan, 2nd Larry Stapleton.
  • Female Under 40 - 1st Helena Walsh, 2nd Alison Donnelly.
  • Male Under 40 - 1st Paul O'Neill, 2nd Colin Foley.


  • Male - 1st Gary Lawlor, 2nd Brian Swaby.
  • Female - 1st Diane Behan, 2nd Kealey Tideswell.

Booking for the 2023 event will open in May next year. Further information and more details results can be found at