Home   /  Sport  /  CAHIR GAA NOTES





Cahir under 21 footballers gave a great display to defeat Kilsheelan/Kilcash in the south final in Monroe on Saturday last. This was a great achievement for a very young side and there wild scenes of excitement when the final whistle was blown. Congratulations also to a young management team of Gavin Berry, Benny Hickey and Robbie Costigan who instilled great confidence and discipline into these young lads. The final score was 2 ? 7 to 6 points.

The team and scorers were as follows; Rares Stocia, Oisin Moloney, Eoin Donaghy, Brendan Donaghy, James Walsh, Dean Lonergan (0-1), Liam Howard (Captain), Liam Casey (1-2), Conor Casey (0-1), Darragh Howard, Mikey O?Connor, Aaron Murphy (1-1), Cormac Looby, Ian Flannery (0-2), Brian McKenna, Niall McKenna, Ryan O?Donnell, Ryan Murphy, Eanna Heffernan, Eoghan Quinlan, Gavin McCarthy, Stephen Dooley, Keelan Looby, Davy English.

Because of fixture congestion, these lads had to play the county semi final on the following day Sunday against Upperchurch. Another wonderful performance ended in a draw after extra time. The replay has yet to be decided.

The draw the joker

was held in Morrissey?s on Sunday night last. Maria Burroughs name was first out but she did not win the joker. Fiona Kelly, Emily Ryan and Margaret O?Connor won the other prizes. Next weeks draw will be held in the Shamrock lounge and the jackpot is now ?9,600.

Congratulations to the Colaiste Dun Iascaigh Senior ladies Football team who qualified for the All-Ireland Final

with a great win over Athenry in Birr on Wednesday last. We wish them well in the All-Ireland Final. Best wishes also to the Junior Ladies Football team who play in the All-Ireland semi-final on Saturday.

Congratulations also to Liam Casey and the Tipperary Under 21 Football team

who qualified for the Munster Final with a good win over Clare on Wednesday last. We wish them well in the Final on April 9th

The finals of the parish football league

took place last Saturday and what a day?s football we had. Again, it was the first year the girls took part and it added to both the teams and the competition. The B final between Darragh Heffernan and Liam Hickey?s teams was an excellent game of football. The goalies Conor Lonergan and especially Lauren Moloney were excellent with Lauren making some point blank saves. It was especially pleasing to see the great performances of the younger players. Darragh Heffernan?s team prevailed on the day to win the B final by the narrowest of margins. The A final was another fantastic game. Again, the younger players were well prepared to get stuck in. Some of the scores that were taken were equal to anything one could see in an inter-county match. Cillian Halpin and David Clifford?s team locked horns in what was a titanic struggle. Cillian led by example but was well supported by Tomas Kelly and Osin Maher. Evan O Regan was in flying form. Again there was only one score between the teams in the end. Mossy Hyland presented winning captain Cillian Halpin with the Hyland family perpetual trophy. The future looks good for Cahir Football if what was witnessed last Saturday is anything to go by. Jake Kiely and Lauren Moloney won the player of the Tournament. Again, many thanks to John Quirke for his kind sponsorship. As has been said before, John has been a patron of the club for many years and is somebody we all appreciate very much. Thanks also to the ladies football club for the catering on the day and to John O'Donoghue for a wonderful soup.